BEST FOOD AROUND

DISCLAIMER: I am in no way a food expert. Whatever I say is just my personal opinion ( and this one friend which I always go food hunt with) I just really really reallyy love food and the following is what I consider to be the best food around.

1.Tai cheong bakery (holland village)

WhatsApp Image 2017-04-19 at 19.43.45

To me, this has to be one of the best egg tarts around. They use almost like a sugar cookie crust and the custard is so silky and smooth.  The crust sets it apart from other normal egg tarts. Other than the unique crust, the custard doesn’t taste eggy and the sugar in it is just nice for me. I didn’t get a chance to taste the coconut tart and the buns which they are also known for but i will definitely come back.

2.Liao Fan Hong Kong Soya Sauce Chicken Rice & Noodle

I have no pictures sadly but anyways, this place serves the best char siew i have ever tasted before. If you guys are not familiar, this place is the first hawker stall to be given a michelin star and it has since upgraded to a bigger and better place.

The chicken rice is exactly how it sounds like. It taste literally like chicken and soya sauce. It is good but the char siew is just DIVINE. I have never ever tasted char siew like that before. The meat was white and the outside was crispy and i was in heaven with how rich, sweet and flavourful the char siew was. i never seen char siew like that before. i think they use the loin and that is why there is a band of fat. The meat was  glistening and white. Most char siew i ate, infact all, the meat is always grey and brown but this char siew aint about that life. I understand why this place has a michelin star after tasting the absolutely scrumptious and delicious char siew.

So if you guys happen to be around Chinatown, do stop by and i promise it will be worth your time,

3. J Town cafe

WhatsApp Image 2017-03-17 at 00.20.22.jpeg
My friend once told me that chocolate and cheese go together . i thought she had finally lost her marbles. However , after trying murthabak manis at J Town cafe, i became a believer.

Murthabak manis is like apam balik but it’s slightly softer and it has different fillings such as peanut , ovalatin and chocolate and cheese. Murthabak manis is very popular in Indonesia.

I was skeptical until I tried one and after that day , my life changed forever. The sweetness of the chocolate sprinkles and the saltiness of the cheese works perfectly together. The murthabak itself  was so soft and it was like a party in my mouth. It is not refined nor is it unbelievably delicious. It was unbelievably comforting. The warmth and comfort i got reminded me of my childhood. So if you guys happen to be at orchard there, please do drop by this cafe and give this unusual and uncommon treat a try.

This is all i have for you guys today. I have more delectable and mouth-watering places to recommend so keep a look out for that in the future. BYEE and have a fantastic week ahead.

Leave a Reply

